Reflections Of A Lackluster Life

The Random Thoughts Of A Captive Midwesterner

Half January 24, 2011

Filed under: Just Me — The Shelly Belly @ 1:36 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

About 4 months ago, I crossed the finish line of my first half marathon.  My legs were dead, my lungs were dead, my entire body ached worse than it had in my entire life.  I was filled with a sense of pride and accomplishment like I had never known before.  People were everywhere cheering and congratulating.  And I even go a medal!

Yesterday, for the first time since that fateful day, I ran another half marathon.  Except this time there was no cheering and no medal.  It was just the same as any other day where a long run was involved.  Somehow 13 miles has gone from being the number I worked towards for months to just another distance that I am perfectly capable of running.  It has been reduced from one of the most exciting things I have ever done to a boring treadmill run with bad Sunday TV.  It was a challenging run and I probably could have run it faster, but speed was not my goal.  My legs were a little tired, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Now I realize that the same fear that a 13 mile distance had once filled me with has now been replaced with a new number, 26.  I can’t imagine running double the distance I did yesterday.  A few more miles sure, but double?  I know that is what a training program is for, to get you to that distance.  Today starts week 5 of that program, and I have 13 weeks to go after this one.  I have faith in myself that I will be able to do this, I just can’t visualize actually doing it.

For now I will focus on smaller goals, next weekend I run a 14 miler.  That will be my longest distance ever, though it doesn’t fill me with the dread of 26, it’s still further than I’ve ever had to go before.  Hopefully I will be able to run outside next week, I don’t think I can take another boring treadmill run.

 

One Response to “Half”

  1. Peter Says:

    1. If you have come this far and now 13 miles isn’t a big deal, I’m sure you’ll be able to do the same with 26!

    2. I can’t even imagine running 5… so there’s that!

    3. I’ll pray for good weather for us both!


Leave a Reply

